Marriott International’s The Luxury Collection brand has debuted in Australia with the opening of a luxury hotel in Hobart.

The Tasman, A Luxury Collection Hotel Hobart is located at Parliament Square overlooking Hobart’s historic waterfront.

It is situated close to the city’s popular destinations, such as Salamanca Markets and St. David’s Park, as well as the Sullivan’s Cove.

Australian architects Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp and Australian interior design firm Joseph Pang Design Consultants have designed the hotel.

The Luxury Collection vice-president and global brand leader Philipp Weghmann said: “Hobart is a truly captivating and dynamic city, allowing a seamless fit for The Luxury Collection, known for creating experiences for global explorers in some of the world’s most enchanting destinations.

“The Tasman will offer our guests a transformative journey, drawing on the incredible history, evocative contemporary culture, and awe-inspiring natural wonders of one of the most intriguing and farthest corners of the globe.”

Featuring 152 guest rooms and suites, The Tasman hotel offers amenities including a fitness centre equipped with cardio equipment and free weights, free high-speed internet, and 769m2 meeting and event space.

The hotel also features a signature restaurant Peppina by Tasmanian chef, Massimo Mele, Mary Mary cocktail bar, and spirits library, as well as the Deco Lounge.

Marriott International Asia Pacific (excluding Greater China) president Rajeev Menon said: “We are thrilled to unveil the first The Luxury Collection hotel in Australia with the opening of The Tasman, a hotel that will redefine the destination of Tasmania.

“This marks a new milestone in the growth of The Luxury Collection and further diversifies our growing collection of hotels in the world’s most desirable locations. We look forward to welcoming guests to experience this wonderful city.”

Earlier this month, the Luxury Collection brand opened its first hotel in Madrid, Spain.

The brand has around 120 hotels and resorts in over 35 countries and territories.