Ireland has imposed mandatory hotel quarantine order for all travellers arriving from 33 countries, which have been categorised “high risk” for Covid-19 transmission.

The move, which has been made effective from 26 March 2021, pertains to passengers who arrive from any of the ‘higher risk country’ on the category 2 list, in addition to those who do not have a negative or not detected (RT-PCR) test taken within 72 hours prior to their arrival.

These passengers are required to book and pay for a 14-day stay at the dedicated hotels located across Ireland.

However, passengers with a negative Covid-19 test are required to stay for 10 days at the hotels.

As part of the ‘mandatory hotel quarantine’ order, Tifco Hotel Group has been selected to transport passengers from their arrival point to their ‘quarantine hotels’.

While Tifco Hotel Group will provide security, the Irish Defence Forces will be responsible for the process and escorting the buses to the hotels.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

Following a meeting scheduled next week, the Irish cabinet would discuss coronavirus restrictions in the country and impose possible changes after 5 April 2021, reported BBC News.

The 33 high risk countries currently included in Category 2 are Angola, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Panama, Venezuela, Argentina, Ecuador, Paraguay, Zambia, Austria, Eswatini, Peru, Zimbabwe, Bolivia, French Guiana, South Africa, Botswana, Guyana, Rwanda, Brazil, Lesotho, Seychelles, Burundi, Malawi, Suriname, Cape Verde, Mauritius, Tanzania, Chile, Mozambique, UAE, Colombia, Namibia and Uruguay.

Recently, Northern Ireland announced plans for “managed isolation”.